top of page
  • Writer's pictureAaron Alleyne-Wake

Hoy's Back On Two Wheels...Kind Of


It seems as if some habits die hard for Sir Chris Hoy who has found himself back on two wheels. It's not a bicycle this time though, his vehicle of choice is the Nissan Juke. Driving on two wheels is certainly no mean feat but even so, Nissan Ambassador Sir Chris was able to learn the technique in just two days.

The Le Mans Racer and multi-winning Olympian was put through his paces by Terry Grant, a world-record breaking stuntman that has set no fewer than 23 Guinness World Records. One of those records was the fastest mile on two wheels, so if he couldn't teach Sir Chris then no-one could.

The audacious challenge took place between two venues - Silverstone Motor Circuit and Kendrew Barracks - and the car used was a specially modified Nissan Juke. One of the main modifications was the stabiliser to help Sir Chris get a feel of the sensation of being on two wheels.

The training wheel was taken off for the second day however and it must have been learning to ride a bike all over again for the man that made his fame on two wheels. In one of the runs he was able to cover 400m whilst on two wheels - an achievement that brought a large cheer from his peers watching.

Terry Grant commented; “Chris nailed it two for two! Driving on two wheels in two days – most people would take two months to master that. I think it highlights his ability to soak up instruction and apply discipline to something that’s both mentally and physically challenging – of which he’s got plenty of experience. Operating under pressure and being in control at all times, they’re the skills you need for this stunt. To master it in such a short period of time though, I’m really impressed.”

Sir Chris added; “I loved it. I never thought it would be as much fun as it was, but I just wanted to keep going. On day one I felt like I was only getting a first foot on the ladder and it’d be weeks before I’d be driving without the safety net. Then today when they took the stabilizer wheel off and there was the risk of rolling the car, the pressure didn’t get to me. I remembered Terry’s instructions and it all came together. When I caught the roll and was suddenly driving on two wheels it was such a rush of adrenaline and relief in equal measure – an amazing experience. Thanks to Terry and Nissan for allowing me to add another string to my driving bow.”

Fancy seeing the challenge for yourself? Well you're in luck as it can be found right here.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page