top of page
  • Writer's pictureAaron Alleyne-Wake

Cars And Their Owners: Audi TT 3.2 Quattro


Welcome to another installment of Cars and Their Owners, this time around it's the turn of an Audi TT. It's not just your bog standard TT that was dubbed as a 'hairdresser's car' - this is the Mk1 3.2 litre V6 quattro model. A car I believe will be a future classic and looks great, even to this day. It's also one of the last models to come off the production line before the Mk2 TT came along. This particular car belongs to my landlord, the same landlord who got me last-minute ticket to this year's Goodwood Festival - Legend.

Vital Statistics

Make: Audi

Model: TT 3.2 quattro

Year: 2006

Engine: 3.2 litre V6

Power: 247bhp

0-62 time: 6.4 seconds

Top speed: 155mph

Gearbox: 6-speed DSG

Torque: 236 lb ft

Drivetrain: quattro four-wheel drive

MPG: 28mpg (combined)

CO2 emissions: 238g/km

What does it have?

The TT is pretty loaded. Heated seats, DSG gearbox, paddle shifts, pioneer sat nav (I provided this), nappa leather.

How long have you owned it and why did you buy it?

I have had it for 2 years. I have always loved the Mk 1 TT. My step dad and a friend had one and I always remember the interior being a great feature, plus the lovely smell of leather is always a strong welcome. I always remember my Dad, who was a flying enthusiast, describing it as like being in a cockpit of a war plane / fighter jet as the door sills are higher than normal and the round guages are remenicent of the older jets - and also the Bugatti Veyron too!

When I was looking I couldn't afford a mk2 TT RS and so this was an easy option. It's the fastest mk1 they produced. Easy choice. Plus the wheels really do it favours. They're 18 inch 3SDM. They're big on the dub scene. The Audi decals also made it stand out from the crowd with also being a rare colour in the mk1. Not many seen.

What work have you put into it?

I drove to Germany to get an EDEL 01 exhaust ( Cat back). Nothing on offer in the UK satisfied my ears, plus this company kept popping up on you tube. I just had to get it plus I got a road trip out of it too. It is starting to sound better and better. I also have people on TT forums asking to come and hear it! I did a video on YT.

I have also lowered it by 40mm and fitted drilled and grooved discs all around.

What do you like most about it?

Now? The sound, acceleration, riding position, look and reliability. Its quickness off the line. Also this is when the exhaust note is at it's best. So yes you guessed it, I have a heavy foot.

What don't you like about it?

It is starting to feel regular in terms of acceleration - but I had a 400 bhp blob eye Impreza and even that felt 'normal' after a while. It happens I suppose even if I owned a Bugatti!

What is your most memorable drive?

The Germany trip was the most memorable. We went through Belgium, Netherlands and Germany stopping off at various points. The autobahn is to be admired, where I legally got up to 135 mph.

I also had an amazing coastal drive in South Wales last year.

What will you buy next?

Tough one! I like big engines and it depends if I need something practical or not. Practical - Audi RS6 (current model when cheaper) Impractical - TT RS or Aston Martin Vantage v8 (wishful thinking though).

49 views0 comments
bottom of page