top of page
  • Writer's pictureAaron Alleyne-Wake

Cars And Their Owners: Mini Super


Everyone loves a Mini don't they? Well I suppose you have to if you're a true Brit. It may be small in stature but it's a massive motoring icon and to this day you'll see a fair few on the road, especially if you happen to live around Boxhill. Why you ask? Well this is because that is the home of the Boxhill Mini Club and this particular Mini is part of that clan.

It's also very rare - this is a 1962 Mini Super which is one of around just 20 on the road in the UK. It's similar to the Mini Cooper but came with a smaller engine and drums instead of disc brakes. The grille is also different and helps to set the Super apart from other Minis from the period. This car belongs to Rob McShane, one of the members of the BHMC who also owns another Mini and a Peugeot 207 GTI.

Vital Statistics

Make: Mini

Model: Super

Year: 1962

Engine: Austin 1100 (not the original engine)

Power: 40-50bhp

0-62 time: Unknown

Top speed: Unknown

Gearbox: 4-speed manual

Torque: Unknown

Drivetrain: Front-wheel drive

MPG: Unknown

CO2 emissions: Unknown


What does it have?

Luxury Duotone trim, added chrome, oval instrument display, Paddy Hopkirk throttle, Moto-Lita steering wheel, Speedwell gearknob, and brand new interior.

How long have you owned it and why did you buy it?

I’ve owned it for about three and half years and it’s only bene on the road for over a year. I bought it as a sort-of rolling project – I have another Mini but I wanted an earlier one. I had a hankering for an early one with the external hinges and the old-school look with the sliding windows.

I started a search for a Mk1, or a Mk2 and luckily I found this one in Dunsfold. It wasn’t too far so I went and had a look at it and a friend of mine, Eric, restored it for me.

What work have you put into it?

Well it’s pretty much a nut and bolt rebuild, back down to the bare shell. It was put on a jig by my friend Eric and stripped back – the metal was taken off that needed replacing and new sills were put in. The floorplan is original but the inner sills have been replaced as well as wings, A panels and door panels.

The interior had to be replaced and a new grille had to be found. It came all the way from Portugal after I purchased it on eBay. The door handles have also been replaced as the original ones were a bit bashed about.

The car is nicknamed 'Damien' on the account of the numberplate

What do you like most about it?

I like the colour, it’s very striking and I like the numberplate. It’s just something I’ve always wanted to own – a Mk1 and I’m really proud of it.

What don't you like about it?

Well at the moment it’s the engine – it’s originally out of an Austin 1100 and it’s burning oil. That’s coming out soon and I’m in the process of finishing building a 1293 engine for it. That should hopefully be going in in a couple of month and then should have up to 90-100bhp.

What is your most memorable drive?

Probably the first day I got it from Eric after it has been restored and MOT’d – it was new year’s eve 2014. It was quite late at night, he had a few issues with getting it MOT’d, he had to get some new headlights because the original lights failed. I picked it up after it had been re-tested and that was like the biggest smile I’ve ever had on my face.

What will you buy next?

I’ve been looking at a few things lately – 205 GTI, I love them, I’ve always liked them. The other car I really like is the BMW E36 M3, they’re going up in value though. Dream car would the Lancia Delta Integrale Evo II.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page